Police on strike?

I somehow don’t think this is going to happen.  But Mayor Bloomberg, one of my least favorite politicians (and there is such a wide field), has said while speaking about gun control:  “I would take it one step further. I don’t understand why police officers across this country don’t stand up, collectively, and say, ‘We’re going to go on strike. We’re not going to protect you unless you, the public, through your legislature, do what’s required to keep us safe.”

Of course, never one to let a shooting crime go to waste, Bloomberg has rung the more gun control cowbell after the Aurora shooting.  I personally think it was a shame none of the movie patrons were armed and could take down the shooter.

But back to wanting the cops to go on strike until we pass more gun control laws.  Ain’t going to happen.  Most of the cops I know are pretty solidly in the pro-Second Amendment category.  Heck, I just went to the range this weekend with some cops and good fun was had by all.  So even though Bloomberg has the power to take away my big gulp and Twinkie if I have the misfortune to be in New York, he is out of luck with this latest wish of his.

And even though it is only semi-relevant, I will leave off with one of my favorite bumper sticker sayings:  When seconds count, the police are only minutes away.

This entry was posted in Big government, conservative politics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

