Thoughts on Libya

The apparent end of the Gaddafi regime in Libya is big news, rightly so, but I feel like I have very little to say about it.  But it feels remiss to ignore the event altogether. 

A big part of the problem, I think, is that our president never articulated his reasons for our involvement.  Right or wrong, I knew why Bush was taking us into Iraq and Afghanistan.  I have no idea why Obama decided to engage in air strikes in Libya.  Granted Gaddafi is a bad actor, in the political sense.  Did Obama feel that America’s interests would be advanced by his removal?  If so, I hope he has some sort of plan for what will replace Gaddafi’s regime.  Leaving a power vacuum in a tin-pot, mid-east dictatorship doesn’t seem like that will do anything to help the US or the world.  And a lot of those Libyan rebels that our media seemed to wax romantically on, seem more like Islamist thugs than freedom fighters.  Hopefully I’m wrong and a wonderful, stable, liberal democracy will emerge.  But I’m not banking on it.

Anyways, good riddance (I hope) to a horrible dictator and let’s hope the best will come of it.  One thing I do know for sure, it is definitely time  for us to take down our Libya poll.  (Hint, hint, nudge, nudge to Mystic Cowgirl.)

This entry was posted in International and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

